You are here
Home > Aadi Gyan > Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra

4th Chakra

Hindi Name:  Anahata meaning ‘that which is ever new’.  Commonly known as the heart centre
Location:  At the centre of the chest
Color:  Emrald Green
Element:  Air
Governs:  The physical heart, lungs and thymus
Traditional development ages:  21-28 years

The heart chakra, or Anahata, is the fourth of the seven main chakras. It is the center of unconditional love.

It is responsible for the administration of:

* the circulatory system, including the heart
* the respiratory system
* the arms and hands
* shoulders
* ribs and breasts
* diaphragm
* thymus gland

Many emotions, such as love, hatred, grief, joy, jealousy, fear of betrayal, feelings of isolation and loneliness and the ability to make ourselves feel better are all centered in the heart chakra.

Leave a Reply