You are here
Home > Aadi Gyan > Root Chakra

Root Chakra

1st Chakra

Hindi Name:  Muladhar meaning ‘root of our support’.  Commonly known as the base centre
Location:  Perineum, base of spine
Color:  Red
Element:  Earth
Governs:  The kidneys, adrenals, pelvis, hips, knees, lower back, sciatic nerve, bowel movement
Traditional development ages:  0-7 years

Every thing around us contains energy which can be absorbed by energy fields within us through centers of energy called chakras. These chakras are connected to all the vital organs and glands in the body. The word is derived from the Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’.

There are seven main chakras, from top to bottom: the root chakra, the sacral chakra, the solar plexus chakra, the heart chakra, the throat chakra, the brow chakra, and the crown chakra.

The root chakra is located at the bottom of the spine. It is the primary chakra of our body which acts as an energy pathway to connect us to our physical bodies and the earth. The root chakra allows us to keep our balance and is associated with the color red which represents passion, strength and fire. It is also called the base chakra.

Leave a Reply