You are here
Home > Aadi Gyan > Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra

3rd Chakra

Hindi Name:  Manipura meaning ‘dwelling place of jewels’.  Commonly known as the power centre
Location:  At the solar plexus
Color:  Yellow
Element:  Fire
Governs:  The spleen, liver, gall bladder, stomach and pancreas
Traditional development ages:  14-21 years

According to Hindu tradition, the solar plexus chakra is the third chakra, which often deals with raw emotions such as frustration, anger and intuitions. The solar plexus chakra or manipura, which means ‘city or jewels’ or also commonly thought of as the diamond, is the center of energy for feelings of sensitivity and power. When the chakra is in balance, you feel confident, zealous, calm, cheerful, and self respectful. It also ensures that you are expressive about your feelings and that you are outgoing, flexible and can handle problems with a calm mind. It is called the solar plexus chakra because of its location being close to the solar nerve plexus.

Leave a Reply