You are here
Home > Chakra

Root Chakra

1st Chakra Hindi Name:  Muladhar meaning 'root of our support'.  Commonly known as the base centre Location:  Perineum, base of spine Color:  Red Element:  Earth Governs:  The kidneys, adrenals, pelvis, hips, knees, lower back, sciatic nerve, bowel movement Traditional development ages:  0-7 years Every thing around us contains energy which can be absorbed by energy fields within us

Sacral Chakra

2nd Chakra Hindi Name:  Swadhisthan meaning 'your own dwelling place'.  Commonly known as the sexual centre Location:  Between the genitals and naval Color:  Orange Element:  Water Governs:  The genitals, reporductive organs, bladder and prostrate Traditional development ages:  7-14 years It deals with feelings of sexuality that allow expression of emotions when the chakra is open without being overly emotional or overactive.

Solar Plexus Chakra

3rd Chakra Hindi Name:  Manipura meaning 'dwelling place of jewels'.  Commonly known as the power centre Location:  At the solar plexus Color:  Yellow Element:  Fire Governs:  The spleen, liver, gall bladder, stomach and pancreas Traditional development ages:  14-21 years According to Hindu tradition, the solar plexus chakra is the third chakra, which often deals with raw emotions such as frustration, anger

Heart Chakra

4th Chakra Hindi Name:  Anahata meaning 'that which is ever new'.  Commonly known as the heart centre Location:  At the centre of the chest Color:  Emrald Green Element:  Air Governs:  The physical heart, lungs and thymus Traditional development ages:  21-28 years The heart chakra, or Anahata, is the fourth of the seven main chakras. It is the center of unconditional love. It is

Throat Chakra

5th Chakra Hindi Name:  Vishuddha meaning 'purest of the pure'.  Commonly known as the throat centre Location:  At the throat Color:  Sky Blue Element:  Ether or Space Governs:  The vocal chords, thyroid and voice Traditional development ages:  28-35  years According to Hindu tradition, the throat chakra also known as Vishuddha meaning purification, is the fifth primary chakra out of all seven

Third Eye Chakra

6th Chakra Hindi Name:  Ajna or Agya meaning 'command'.  Commonly known as the third eye Location:  On the forehead between the eyebrows Color:  Indigo Element:  Light Governs:  The pituitary gland Traditional development ages:  35-42 years Situated between the eyes, the brow or third eye chakra deals with intelligence and psychic power according to Hindu tradition. It is the seat of psychic vision

Crown Chakra

7th Chakra Hindi Name:  Sasasrara meaning 'thousand-petalled lotus'.  Commonly known as the crown centre Location:  At the crown of the head Color:  White or Gold Governs: The pineal gland Traditional development ages:  42-49 years The crown chakra or Sahasrara is the last of the seven main chakras and is represented by the color violet or white. It is mainly